Another day in my world.

My Fisherman says we need rain badly. He has watermelons, cantaloupes, beans, taters, corn, tomatoes, okra, cucumbers planted and up and they need a drink. He and Kate have been hand watering the new strawberries that we planted a couple of weeks ago. These are 25 ever bearing berries so maybe we can have a crop or two throughout the summer. The berries are always here and gone before you can snap your fingers. The ones in the grocery are so pretty and big but if you don’t do something immediately with them, those babies will mold.

So today is my day off from work and Kate and I “hang loose” on our day off. She’ll say “what does that mean?” So I explain this quite often. We had a planned swimming lesson but the clouds, thunder and rain changed that plan. That’s ok, we have been lazy all day, well, kinda. I keep reading and seeing pictures of decluttering and I feel I’m not the only one with these problems. So I took the advice of someone and cleaned out 3 drawers today. It was amazing. How many pencils does a feller need? Ink pens? Paper clips? Key Chains? Smarties? Post-it Notes? So I’m breathing just a tad lighter as we speak. I put all these little babies in a box and took them to a young lady starting high school.

I’m trying to find some brightness in this day as there is a lot of sadness that has stormed down on me in the last couple of days.

My Dad has had 2 sisters and 1 brother – one sister, age 84 died about a year ago. She lived in Oklahoma. Only one sister and my Dad survives. He is 88 and she is about 84. My aunt in Oklahoma and her family always lived away from our small town. They were in Michigan, Florida, and then now Oklahoma. Her and her husband had 2 sons, one 63 and the other about 55. We got a call from the younger one two days ago to tell us that the 63 year old had shot himself. Although I hadn’t seen him in years, our childhood flashed before my eyes and I could only remember fun times we had shared. From 9 grandchildren, I was the only girl. From the 9 of us, this guy had such a great opportunity in life. He was gorgeous, had a wonderful personality, played professional football….we thought he had the greatest life. As the saying goes, we don’t know what goes on behind closed doors – he had 2 broken marriages and ended up on pain pills to consol the pain from playing football. From all that he could never hold a job and lived with his parents until about 5 years ago. Seems that in the end, us little country bumpkins were more successful and happier with our lives. Although we all live in different cities and states, it’s amazing at the bond that kindles when the need arises. We love each other even if our lives are distant. Remember his Dad and surviving brother.

Secondly, we heard from My Fisherman’s MRI results….. Possibly 2 masses in his stomach. Since I heard those words, I’ve had a massive thump in my stomach and my heart is very heavy. This guy is the love of my life, celebrating 40 years just a few weeks ago. I cannot imagine my life without him. I know that we have some dangerous roads ahead but don’t feel sorry for me. God has given me strength that I never thought I’d have. I depend on Him and that’s why I’m here today. I’ll keep you informed as we learn more. Right now we are waiting to hear when his appointment is for another scan and possible biopsy.

Not wanting to end on a sad note because we should enjoy every day we have here on earth and try to make the best of it. So as I was scanning a few blogs this morning, I started reading Confessions of a Chocoholic and lo and behold appeared The Chocolate Cola Cake. I do remember seeing this recipe before and could have possibly made it but it’s been quite some time. So what do I do? I can’t just read the recipe and move on? No, Suzy Homemaker overcame me, with my iPad in hand with the recipe I grabbed the ingredients and slung that yummy cake in the oven. When it comes out of the oven, you pour this HOT cocoa- butter-cola-powdered sugar mixture over it. Hey, just get a glass and drink this. Oh my, wonder how many bites I’ve had today – the only consolation is I used Diet Coke. Ha That should really make a difference, right????? Do you want the recipe? Well, ok I guess I’ll share it.

The Chocolate Cola Cake

Set oven for 350.

2 c flour (I used all purpose)
2 c sugar
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp cinnamon

Mix all the above together.

In saucepan, bring to a boil:

1 c butter
¼ c cocoa powder
1 c cola
½ c buttermilk

Then mix with flour mixture.
Add: 2 eggs and 1 tsp vanilla

Bake about 30 minutes.

Glaze:

½ c butter
1/3 c cocoa
½ c cola

Bring to boil; then mix in 4 cups confectioner’s sugar. Pour over hot cake.

(DID I SAY 3 STICKS OF BUTTER?????? AND I USED THE REAL THING.)

Comments on: "We all have a little rain in our life" (5)

  1. mitambien said:

    Sorry to hear of the losses in your lives..We never really do know what goes on in a hurting heart. But our Father does and we must all cling to hope and trusting in Him. I pray you get the rain you need and the cake sounds delicious..

  2. Hello! I have stopped by a couple of times and perused several of your posts. Just getting around to commenting. Sweet place you have here.

    Sorry to hear about the concerning family news you have recently received.

    The cake recipe sounds delicious and very interesting. i have never baked using soda. It reminds me a little of the recipe for Texas Sheet cake.

    I have enjoyed visiting with you!
    Kindly, Lorraine

  3. Yummy~ the cake sounds delicious!
    So sorry about the tragedy in your family… my heart goes out to you.
    Hope you get some rain soon- we got an inch or two on Wednesday amd maybe more today…. everything was brown here but now it’s greening up again. *Thank Goodness*

  4. Sorry for the loss in your family. In every life some rain must fall, but it’s not always the kind we want and need. Hope you get some of the “good” kind befor long. OHHHHH…I copied the cola cake. Think I will make it NOW!!!!

  5. Wow you poor thing you really have had a terrible time haven’t you. It is really hard watching our loved family members age and decline. And you are right just because you don’t live nearby them doesn’t mean you stop loving and feel with/for them. You have a good positive attitude by the sounds of it. All things will pass and happiness will come full circle to return to us.
    That cake sounds very interesting. Cola in a cake, never heard of it before. I am trying to be good after putting some weight back on so I will refrain. When I cook cakes and biscuits I eat them and the diet goes out the window. Lol.

I loooovvvvee comments...thanks for stopping by.

Tag Cloud

