Another day in my world.

The aroma is staggering.....

My Fisherman walks in one late afternoon and I say, “Take a bite.” I had made these delicious rolls – they were almost perfect, not exactly but almost. Then I said, “Keep this quiet or Emeril or Paula Deen will be calling and I don’t have time for them.” He looks at me like “Are you kidding or are you crazy?” But after that almost-perfect roll hit his tongue he had to agree. Can’t you taste it just looking at the picture? So now I’ve kinda got the big head and I whip up another batch yesterday, floppity,, mopsity and cotton tail. Something went wrong. I knew as soon as the ole – Kitchenaid gave me the dough that it was too heavy. Oh by the way, yes I did buy myself a brand new Kitchenaid and I love it. And the color makes the beater work better, I think. So today after church, I do not aim to be beat over this recipe so I think ok, the only difference is I used butter yesterday in the recipe so I would use margarine today. Well, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but again the dough was nice and soft as it should be. Now I’m confused. The rolls are now rising, as we speak, for the last time in the oven. What could it be? Anyone have any ideas?

The recipe is called Golden Pull-Apart Butter Buns and I got the recipe off a website but not sure where so I’m not taking credit but I think it’s a great one with not much kneading by hand, I just can’t do that so that’s where Ms. Cinnamon Kitchenaid comes into the picture.

You're so cute!!

Golden Pull-Apart Butter Buns

3 ½ cups King Arthur Unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsps instant yeast
2 Tbsp potato flour or ¼ cup instant potato flakes
3 Tbsp nonfat dry milk
2 Tbsp sugar
1 ½ tsp salt
4 Tbsp soft butter
2/3 c lukewarm water
½ cup lukewarm milk

I threw all of this in Ms. Cinnamon and mix to a soft, smooth dough. I left in the same stainless bowl that it was mixed in and covered with a light cloth. Let rise 60 to 90 minutes until about doubled in bulk. Deflate and divide dough in half; I pinched off pieces to make 7 per 9” cake pan. Makes 2 pans. Then put in cold oven and cover again and let rise, about an hour or so. Then preheat oven to 350 and bake for about 22 to 24 minutes. Remove from oven and you can slap some butter on them if you want. These were soooo delicious the first time. I will make them again and again.

Now let’s talk banana bread. I have this thing about having bananas in the house. I will usually buy 3 to 4 greenish bananas which is the way I like to eat them. It’s just kinda hard to fit them in to my eating schedule since I’m a sweetaholic and fruit often doesn’t fit in. So in a few days I have some well ripened bananas. I’ve tried a zillion banana bread recipes and finally I’ve found it. This recipe is the “bestest.”

Again, I don’t take the credit but it came from the internet. Try it and you’ll never use another one. I use 3 small Longaberger loaf pans – they make perfect little loaves.

Here’s the recipe:

Moist Banana Bread

4 ripe bananas
1/3 cup melted butter
¾ cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
2 Tbps applesauce (This is the secret to the moistness)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 ½ cups all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350. Again the ole Kitchenaid came to the rescue, in past days I’d have just beat this by hand but my goodness when you’ve got a beautiful mixer sitting on the kitchen counter with all your other junk, you should use it, right?
First, mash the bananas, then melted butter; then sugar, egg, applesauce & vanilla. Then mix baking soda and salt. Lastly, mix in the flour. Then pour in 3 small pans or adjust to whatever size you use. This morning I made 3 loaves and added fresh blueberries; needless to say it’s even more delicious if that is possible. I cook about 35 minutes; check with a toothpick for doneness.

I promise if you try this, you’ll never use another recipe.

One last tidbit. This Sunday afternoon the weather was hot and quite humid but a little breeze was blowing. My Fisherman and I took Kate to a park and she climbed and slid for about 2 hours. She easily makes friends so she had a variety of kids to entertain herself with. Then we stopped at the lake to take a picture – yes, it’s hard to look at but somebody has to live within 5 minutes of the place and that just happens to be us!! If you’re looking for a good place to visit or move, look at Lake Cumberland. It’s beautiful, peaceful and lots of great folks!

God's precious wonders.

Talk to you soon. Thanks to each of you that have sent me a comment – I love getting them.

Comments on: "Suzy Homemaker Strikes Again…" (2)

  1. I am keeping these recipes…my printer is broken just now…but will be fixed tomorrow…in the meantime I will be able to collect all my ingredients….I have made banana bread by my mother’s recipe…but will try this one…and I like the idea of applesauce….hmmm….never too old to learn a new trick….and by the way…my hubby is not a happy camper and I do believe it is all your fault….I want one of those mixers LOL….had one years and years ago…but the Army pulverized it during one move….just replaced it with a hand mixer…have always blamed that when recipes don’t turn out right LOLOL….I so enjoy reading your blog…and have just about given mine up…but will check in soon….have a wonderful day….hugs from another Kentucky Lady…a bit up north of you!!!!!

  2. I also copied recipe for banana bread and the rolls. I am so hungry now that I think I’m going to go make the banana bread. The rolls look delicious .. I can almost smell them…LOL I think I found your blog through Rose. I’m glad I did!

I loooovvvvee comments...thanks for stopping by.

Tag Cloud

