Another day in my world.

Would you like to be 16 again? 21? 30? Not me, I’ll be 60 in July but that’s ok. Although I’d do many things differently, life has been good to me.

My childhood was quite simple. We never had a lot of money, I can remember Mom saying Dad gave her $10 weekly for groceries (compare that to my $100+). Mom made all my clothes which meant you took off your “good” clothes when you got home from church or school. My Dad was religious to the point of no tv in the house and I always had to wear dresses.

Attending high school in the 60’s I didn’t feel out of place because all the girls were required to wear dresses or skirts. The year after I graduated, the rules changed.

No tv in the house wasn’t too bad since we (my brother & I) never knew the difference. We did listen to a lot of Motown – Aretha, Temptations, 4 Tops.

In the late 50’s my parents owned a small hardware store on Main Street in our rural town. On Saturday afternoon my brother and I would usually stay with our paternal grandparents (Pop & Mom) until about 9:00 p.m. when our parents closed the store. We loved watching Perry Mason and Gunsmoke on tv. Mom C. would always pop popcorn and have cokes in a big glass with ice.

I don’t remember being “bored” – we accepted how life was. Dad was against about anything that kids considered “fun.” He wouldn’t let us have comic books. My aunt and uncle often visited relatives in Tennessee who owned a drugstore. The comic books that weren’t sold in a certain time period were given to them after the front cover was ripped off. My aunt and uncle kept us supplied with comic books. We’d sit on the couch loving every minute of reading Archie and when Dad drove in the driveway we’d grab the comics and hide them under the couch cushions. He never knew.

Today at 88 if you asked him, he’d say “My kids never read that trash.” A feller has to do what a feller has to do for a little entertainment.

My mother was so loving and good to us but she never crossed my Dad. He was definitely the ruler of the house. Things were his way or no way and he is the same today as he was then.

His life was working at the hardware store during the day and going to church at night. Our family went to more revivals than I could ever count. At 7 years old I started taking piano lessons which led to my brother later singing at churches with me playing the piano for him. Thanks, Mom, for making me practice all those years.

I’m thankful to say that I have memories of peace in my family – no yelling and screaming, no cussing, drinking, no mistreatment but love and protection from the people that loved me. I hope you can say the same.

Comments on: "Memories from yesterday" (1)

  1. My Daddy was the same. No shorts or pants, no lipstick or fingernail polish. No love story magazines. We never had a TV. No telephone. There was seven of us siblings and with each one that was born, he got a little more lenient. By the time the last one arrived, he wasn’t nearly as strict on him. But, I never held it against my Daddy. It made me the person I am today. I learned a lot from him and for that i AM GLAD.

I loooovvvvee comments...thanks for stopping by.

Tag Cloud

